Workbench

This is the first workbench that I built.

I wish I had better photos, but I think this captures the important points.  That’s a face vise on the far left.  I am right handed.  Stupid.  The top twisted almost immediately and because of how I built it, I couldn’t flatten it enough without throwing everything out of wack.  Worst of all, the thing was light, flexy, and tall.  Not a good combination.  I didn’t enjoy working with it, so it sat unused.

Tonight I started ripping yellow pine for a split top, Roubo-like bench.  How many 8-foot rips can you get from a single battery charge on a cordless circular saw?  About 2.5.

 

Leave a Reply

