Laying out the seat

Apparently the stool is on everyone’s list at the moment.  I like it because it is a sorta halfway point between a chair and, well, nothing.  Sitting on the ground?  Maybe.  Plus there are only three legs, so I only have to worry about one drilling angle once I laid out the mortise locations. To locate the leg positions, I played with the wireform model I put up a couple of posts earlier and decided on a 4 inch diameter leg circle on a 12 inch seat.   The next thing to do was to lay out an equilateral triangle on the seat bottom so I could get the legs equidistant from one another.  Just a little bit of simple geometry  construction was all it took.
img_5830

I have some pictures of me constructing that triangle that I will post a little later.  Good old high-school geometry reminders from the teacher in me. After laying this out, I drilled the 5/8 in holes with a wood owl bit and an 8 inch brace with a holdall chuck.   On instagram I joked that the leg layout lines looked like the cover of a metal album, it definitely has that archaic magic symbol look to it. For this stool seat, I beveled the underside with a jack plane and then cleaned up the bevel with a new, to me, stanley M151.  I fell in love with the spokeshave almost immediately.  Get the thing sharp and it is a blast to use.  It’s definitely an ongoing lesson in reading grain though.  The spokeshave is like the chisel in that regard.

img_5843-1

After I beveled the underside, I reamed the 5/8 holes with the large veritas reamer, checking my leg angle as I went.  You don’t have to have a fancy sliding bevel like the Blue Spruce Toolworks one below, but man, it makes it nicer.  Everything I have ever picked up from David’s company has been ultra nice and super functional.  You can see my 16 oz Blue Spruce mallet in the background of this photo, which is acrylic infused and indestructible.  After this step, I started in on shaping the legs.
img_6136

Leave a Reply

